The Huske Hardware House Restaurant and Brewery has been an historic downtown icon for over a decade but the building itself has an even richer 109 year old history and is a part of the National Register of Historic Places.
The original building, (pictured to the right) in front of an unpaved Hay Street, was built in 1903 by Benjamin R. Huske as an all-inclusive department hardware store- the proverbial Home Depot or Lowe’s of its era.
The HHH brand was established in 1904 and the hardware store stayed in operation for 67 years. The original Victorian-era masonry frame was added to over the years to accommodate the booming business. It expanded upwards an additional story and to the west to add three more store fronts.
Between 1970 and 1996, the building took on a variety of tenants, from furniture merchants to jewelry stores. However, in 1996 Dr. William Baggett renovated the east side of the building to create the restaurant and brewery of today.