Two Scottish brothers, Augustus Hiram Kelly and Duncan Ray Kelly built this house around 1900. In 1912, Duncan Kelly purchased his brother’s interest in the house, and he and his wife re-modeled. The family was prospering from their business, the Kelly Suspender Company, and many additions and improvements were made at this time.
The original full porch on the front was replaced with a smaller version and another porch was added onto the side. Cliff E. Rankin, a local craftsman, made the fluted Doric columns seen on the porches. The mahogany door with beveled glass and beveled sidelights still remain as when they were added in 1912. By the 1980s the home was being used commercially by Newton’s Antiques and when Newton’s closed for business the building was re-modeled to be a restaurant.
Over time, many changes have been made, but the house is essentially the same building that has stood for almost 100 years — a two story Georgian style frame house with many features popular in the period: bay windows, stained-glass windows, gabled roof, machine-made balusters.
Inside the front door there is a central hallway and a mahogany railed staircase and machine-turned balusters leading to the second story. The oak hardwood floors throughout the house are ornate and continue the mahogany theme with the outside perimeter of the floor having a double inlaid strip of mahogany and a Greek key design in each corner. The original dining room has a Tiffany bay window and a Tiffany tile fireplace.