Cumberland County Headquarters Library

library 1
1793
Anniversary meeting of the Fayetteville Library Society on July 23 in the State House in Fayetteville.

1794
Fayetteville Library Society incorporated by the North Carolina General Assembly. Appears to be the first incorporated library society in North Carolina.

1818
Establishment of the Fayetteville Library Company by the General Assembly of North Carolina on December 24.

1845
Fayetteville Library Institute chartered.

1907
Woman’s Civic Association organized and sponsored a subscription library.

1910
Subscription library placed in the upstairs of the Market House.

1932
Free public library established January 18 for Fayetteville citizens.

1933
Free public library was extended to all residents of Cumberland County on December 18.

1941
First library bookmobile begun under WPA.

1942
“Negro Branch” of the library organized as the James Walker Hood Library with WPA funding.

1952
Library moves out of Market House and Anderson Street Library opens in March.

1969
Fire at Anderson Street Library in January destroys children’s collection. Library reopens in July.

1984
Site for the new Headquarters Library purchased in March.