In 1805, the General Assembly of North Carolina authorized the appointment of citizen patrols. The head of this group was known as the Magistrate of Police and was an elected position. He was given the authority to sentence individuals for violating the law.
In 1816, the jailer of Cumberland County was authorized to receive people taken in by the Town Watch until the magistrate could see them the next morning. The records regarding the Police Department between 1880 and 1909 were lost in a fire.
In the early 1960’s the Fayetteville Observer interviewed three police officers that began working with the Police Department in the 1940’s. They spoke about their first years on the force when rookies were trained by “giving them a gun and showing them their beat,”.
Officers working downtown knew to go back to the department when someone the turned outside light on. At that time all the lights downtown were turned off at midnight. Today, the Fayetteville NC Police Department is divided into three districts, Campbellton, Central and Cross Creek.
The current police station building is adjacent to City Hall at 467 Hay Street and has been in this location since 2007.
The Airborne & Special Operations Museum is part of the United States Army Museum System. Located near Fort Bragg, Fayetteville, North Carolina, it opened to the public on August 16, 2000, the 60th anniversary of the first U.S. Army parachute jump in 1940 at Fort Benning, Georgia. The museum’s emphasis is on United States military history, especially U.S. Army Airborne and Special Operations Forces.
This most western leg of the Linear Park greenway system starts at Veteran’s Park, crosses Bragg Boulevard in front of Park View Condominiums and runs along the west side of Bragg Boulevard northwest until it makes a left turn onto a suspended bridge that parallels Rowan Street and ends at the upper terrace of Rowan Park.
Although seemingly on Bradford Avenue, the Museum of the Cape Fear is actually located at 801 Arsenal Ave, Fayetteville, North Carolina, directly across Arsenal Avenue from St. Patrick’s Catholic Church.
The building was originally built as a nurses’ residence back in the late 1940s by Highsmith Hospital. Although the one-time dormitory has lost its original architectural integrity, the basic structure remains: It is a large, two-story, brick, flat-roofed building with two-over-two wooden sash windows.
In the 1980s the building was substantially remodeled with new wall materials and an added entrance portico to serve as the Museum of the Cape Fear, a regional history museum. Metal screens that hide the original windows add to the transformation of the building with exhibits telling the story of the area.
Properties also owned by the museum are the E.A. Poe House and Arsenal Park located directly across Martin Luther King Boulevard. Arsenal Park can be accessed by the pedestrian bridge directly behind the Poe House.
Founded in 1962 as the Fayetteville Little Theatre, on the advice of State Senators Tony Rand and Lura Tally, the theatre changed its name to Cape Fear Regional Theatre. In 1981, FLT hired Bo as its Artistic Director, the sole paid staff position, on a total budget of under $50,000.
Today, after 2 extraordinarily successful capital campaigns, the regional theatre has a full-time staff of ten, a budget of over $1 million, a Board of Directors of 26, and produces plays of stunning national quality.
CFRT has become a training ground, and many amateurs have gone on to theatre careers regionally and beyond, including award-winning children’s author Mary Pope Osborne, Broadway performers Suzanne Ishee, Grady Bowman, Natasha Williams, and producer Suzanne Evans. Although very rough when it was purchased, this building is now a very nice three-story complex with a 327-seat main stage.