The Hamont Grill and Steakhouse was founded in 1946 and has been owned and operated by four generations of the Skenteris family in this very same location. At one time this building housed the Haymount Barber Shop, First Citizen’s Bank, Metropolitan Life Insurance, and a beauty shop.
Local legend has it that the restaurant was originally the Haymount Grill (named after this area of town) but shortened its name to Hamont because it was $5,000 (the equivalent of $49k today) cheaper to make a sign with two less letters. Other businesses began to follow suit for the same reason and now 60+ years later, this section of town (the mount at the top of Hay Street) is known widely as both Haymount and Haymont.
If you notice the signs on the Hamont Grill, the large sign says “Hamont Grill” and the smaller sign on the front says Haymont Grill”.
Haymont Barber Shop originally opened in the Haymont Grill building but lack of parking for the restaurant caused Pete Skenteris to not renew it’s lease. They moved across the street to this location and have been here ever since. Donnie Barefoot, the owner since the early 1960s was a barber in the original Haymont barber shop across the street.
Joe Council and Tommy Skenteris (nephew of Pete Skenteris, owner of Haymont Grill) own Vick’s Drive In. Tommy’s father and uncle — both Greek immigrants — originally opened the business in 1957, before integration, as a restaurant specifically catering to the black community.
In the early years, car-hops waited on people while they sat in their cars. The curbside service was dropped in the early 1970s but you can still see the framework of the original awnings. A second Vick’s Drive-In that operated on Bragg Boulevard closed in the late ’70s and this location will close next year to make way for the new overpass to be reconstructed.
The Horne’s building is located at 124 Hay Street. It was built in 1925 and was known for many years as Horne’s Drug Store and Soda Fountain and is currently the home of Off the Hook Taco Emporium. The outside of the building has a beautiful original old vitrolite facade and fabulous art deco sign letters. In addition to tables and chairs inside and outside, there is also counter seating inside with stools.
The Capitol, also known as The Capitol Department Store, is a historic department store building located at 216 Hay Street, in Fayetteville, North Carolina.
The original store was established at this site in 1921, with an existing two-story building incorporated into it in 1936. In 1949, the existing building was doubled in size by a large rear addition. The most notable feature is the 60-foot wide Modern Movement storefront added in 1955.
It features marble facing, a recessed storefront, a large convex full-height window in the second story, and large aluminum script lettering for The Capitol. The Capitol, the last department store remaining in downtown Fayetteville, closed in March 1990.
The Cameo Art House Theatre building was home to one of Fayetteville’s first motion picture theatres: the New Dixie Theater. Veteran moving picture man S.A. Lambert first bought out the original Dixie in 1908.
He moved across the street to the Southside of Hay Street in 1914 and called it the New Dixie.
At its opening Mr. Lambert screened 36 moving pictures a week and the New Dixie boasted having 336 fine opera chairs, ten electrical wall lights, and with the exception of a theatre in Highpoint the only mirror screen in North Carolina.
Originally a scored stucco building with a large archway facing Hay Street it was given its current brick facade when the adjoining alley was enclosed to make room for Brady’s Newsstand.
The popularity of the New Dixie led to the opening of the Broadway and Miracle Theaters which replaced the New Dixie as the state-of-the-art motion pictures houses in Fayetteville.
The Cameo Art House Theatre opened in October of 2000 and has 125 velvet covered cast iron opera style chairs, Dolby digital sound and projection system, four film screening formats and a lobby lounge.
In March of 2003 the Cameo added a second screen, which contains 38 stadium style seats in an intimate screening room on the 2nd floor of the CAMEO building.
The Cameo building has been recognized by Preservation North Carolina and in local media as the “Coolest Place Downtown,” The “Best Movie Theater in Fayetteville,” the “Best Place to take a Date,” and in the program of the 2002 Sundance Film Festival Program.
The Cameo has screened hundreds of art, independent, foreign and classic films. Our theatre is the site of numerous fundraisers, parties, most notably our annual Academy Awards Celebration to benefit local non-profits.
Fayetteville is the county seat of Cumberland County, North Carolina and is best known as the home of Fort Bragg, a major U.S. Army installation northwest of the city.
Fayetteville has received the prestigious All-America City Award from the National Civic League three times. With an estimated population of 374,157, the Fayetteville metropolitan area is the largest in southeastern North Carolina, and the fifth-largest in the state.
The best-known public buildings including the old “State House” were lost in the Great Fire of 1831. The next year the Market House was rebuilt on the site of the old State House and it housed the Town Hall on its second floor until 1907.
This current location (433 Hay Street) has housed City Hall since 2007.