The Dr. William C. Verdery House, located at 1428 Raeford Road, is a historic home located at Fayetteville, Cumberland County, North Carolina. It was built in 1936, and is a Colonial Revival style brick dwelling. It consists of a two-story, main block flanked by a two-story wing and a one-story porch wing on the west and a one-story wing and recessed two-bay wing on the east. It is topped by a slate gable roof and features an Ionic order entrance surround.
The house is currently being sold by the estate of Stuart Verdery Kerr (the daughter of Dr. William Verdery). Stuart passed away in her home on August 5, 2011. Stuart was well known throughout the community and made many contributions to society. She was a founding member of the Fayetteville Academy Board of Directors. Stuart also served for many years on the Fayetteville Downtown Revitalization Commission, the Board of Fascinate U Children’s Museum, the Salvation Army Advisory Board, the Cumberland Country Chapter of the North Carolina Symphony and the Linear Park Advisory Board.
She also was a member of the Study Club and the Fayetteville Garden Club. Stuart was actively involved in the Altar Guild at St. John’s Episcopal Church and most recently spearheaded a local ministry supporting families bereaving the loss of a loved one. She devoted her time and passion to feeding the homeless through the Love Lunches program.
Born on January 12, 1814, in Fayetteville, James C. Dobbin entered the University of North Carolina at the early age of fourteen and graduated with honors in 1832. He returned to Fayetteville where he “read law” (how a lawyer was trained before there were law schools) with Judge Robert Strange. Dobbin was admitted to the bar in 1835 and launched his law practice.
Soon he began to participate in local politics and after declined to be a candidate himself, Dobbin unwittingly was nominated for Congress by the Democrats. He was elected to the House of Representatives in 1845 and served the term but refused to run for reelection. Instead he turned his attention to the North Carolina House of Commons, to which he was immediately elected.
In 1948 he made a passionate speech in favor of establishing a hospital for the insane that resulted in a favorable action being taken by the General Assembly. Using money donated by Dorthea Dix a hospital for the mentally ill was established in Raleigh and named for its benefactor.
Dobbin was reelected and appointed Speaker of the House for 1850-1852. At the 1852 Democratic National Convention, Dobbin nominated relatively unknown Franklin Pierce for president.
Dobbin’s speech at the convention and his later support for Pierce during the campaign earned him the appointment as Secretary of the Navy. He worked to reform and expand the Navy, making it a more efficient and effective military branch.
Dobbin was a firm believer in a strong Navy as insurance for peace (like Reagan’s “peace through strength”, and during his brief tenure as Secretary of the Navy put eighteen ships, including six steam-powered frigates, into service. He also maintained support for exploratory voyages, such as Commodore Matthew Perry’s expedition to Japan which resulted in a treaty with that country, signed in 1854.
The four years that Dobbin spent as Secretary of the Navy took a heavy toll on his fragile health and just five months after leaving office, August 4, 1857, James Dobbin died in Fayetteville, North Carolina. He is buried at Cross Creek Cemetery.
Fair Oaks, located at 1507 Morganton Road, Fayetteville, Cumberland County, North Carolina, was built in 1858 by prominent businessman E.J. Lilly.
It included an octagonal summerhouse, the old kitchen, servants’ quarters, smokehouse, and school house. The house incorporates a Georgian plan with Greek Revival and Italianate elements. Surrounding the house is the original cast iron fence with a beautifully designed gate.
General Sherman’s Union troops marched into Fayetteville on March 11, 1865, to burn the Fayetteville Arsenal, which had been taken from the federal government and used by the Confederacy during the war. The troops stayed four days and burned the arsenal, The Fayetteville Observer, mills, and homes.
Historians say Lilly, who built Fair Oaks, was concerned about danger to his family from Union troops in the area and offered Sherman the use of his home.
It is believed that Sherman’s troops used the Fair Oaks house as a field hospital and it therefore was spared from the “scorched earth” campaign that destroyed the Fayetteville Arsenal and many other important Fayetteville buildings.
The Frank H. Stedman House is a historic home located at 1516 Morganton Road, Fayetteville, Cumberland County, North Carolina. It was built in 1925, and consists of a two-story, five bay, main block with a hip roof and projecting one-story, flat-roofed wings that form a “U”-shape. It is sheathed in stucco and is in the Italian Renaissance style. The front facade features an arcade supported by two Corinthian order columns. Also on the property is a contributing garage apartment.
This bronze statue of a Confederate soldier holding his rifle on a four-sided granite pedestal between two cannons. The monument was erected in 1902 at a cost of $2,200 and was dedicated to the 2,416 soldiers of Cumberland County that fought in the Civil War.
It was originally located in the center of St. James Square, at the present day intersection of Grove, Green, Rowan, and Ramsey Streets. It was moved to the northeast side of the square in 1951 to accommodate the roads and in 2002 it was again relocated to the intersection of Morganton and Fort Bragg Roads.
Two Scottish brothers, Augustus Hiram Kelly and Duncan Ray Kelly built this house around 1900. In 1912, Duncan Kelly purchased his brother’s interest in the house, and he and his wife re-modeled. The family was prospering from their business, the Kelly Suspender Company, and many additions and improvements were made at this time.
The original full porch on the front was replaced with a smaller version and another porch was added onto the side. Cliff E. Rankin, a local craftsman, made the fluted Doric columns seen on the porches. The mahogany door with beveled glass and beveled sidelights still remain as when they were added in 1912. By the 1980s the home was being used commercially by Newton’s Antiques and when Newton’s closed for business the building was re-modeled to be a restaurant.
Over time, many changes have been made, but the house is essentially the same building that has stood for almost 100 years — a two story Georgian style frame house with many features popular in the period: bay windows, stained-glass windows, gabled roof, machine-made balusters.
Inside the front door there is a central hallway and a mahogany railed staircase and machine-turned balusters leading to the second story. The oak hardwood floors throughout the house are ornate and continue the mahogany theme with the outside perimeter of the floor having a double inlaid strip of mahogany and a Greek key design in each corner. The original dining room has a Tiffany bay window and a Tiffany tile fireplace.
St. Joseph’s Episcopal Church is a historic African-American Episcopal parish church complex located at 509 Ramsey Street, Fayetteville, Cumberland County, North Carolina. This historic structure at Ramsey and Moore Streets was built in 1896. It is a low, shingled, Queen Anne style frame church with English Gothic and Spanish accents.
It features a three-part stained glass window, deeply-projecting semi-octagonal chancel, and steeply-pitched main roof with exposed rafters. Also on the property are the contributing Parish House and Parsonage. It was chartered in 1873, and is the second oldest Episcopal congregation in Fayetteville.
Originally located on Green Street, the Belden-Horne House was built by Simeon Belden after the disastrous fire of May 1831 destroyed his earlier home. The “Great Fire,” considered to be one of the worst in the nation’s history, struck Fayetteville in 1831. Though no lives were lost, numerous businesses and homes were destroyed, including the old State House. The Fayetteville citizens joined together to help rebuild the city.
Barges Tavern, currently located at 519 Ramsey Street, has been moved twice since its location here. According to local tradition, this small circa 1800 house was once an ordinary or “spirits” room, which stood at the northeast corner of James Square two blocks south at the intersection of Grove, Green, Rowan, and Ramsey Streets. The building features a central chimney, which was prevalent in Fayetteville during the late 18th and early 19th centuries.
Cross Creek Cemetery was established in 1785 and expanded in 1833. It contains approximately 1,170 grave markers dating from 1786 to 1964.
After the Civil War ended, the Ladies’ Memorial Association of Fayetteville had all soldiers who had been killed in battle—along with those who had died and been buried in various nearby locations—interred (or re-interred) in Cross Creek Cemetery. The group then raised the funds to erect a Confederate Soldiers Monument in Cross Creek, the first Confederate monument in North Carolina; it was dedicated on December 30, 1868.
Cross Creek Cemetery was added to the National Register of Historic Places in September 1998 as a national historic district. Notable burials include:
J. Bayard Clark, United States Representative (1929–1949)
James C. Dobbin, United States Secretary of the Navy (1853–1857)
Wharton J. Green, United States Representative (1883–1887)
Edward J. Hale, United States Ambassador to Costa Rica (1913–1917)
John G. Shaw, United States Representative (1895–1897)
Charles Manly Stedman, Lieutenant Governor of North Carolina (1885–1889) and United States Representative (1911–1930)
Warren Winslow, Speaker of the North Carolina Senate (1854–1855) and United States Representative (1855–1861)
Robert Adam, merchant and first captain of the Fayetteville Independent Light Infantry (1759–1801)